Task Force on Shared Governance November 19, 2014, 2:00 pm, Room 408 Manderino Library

MINUTES

The Task Force on Shared Governance met on Wednesday, November 19, 2014 at 2:00 pm in Room 408, Manderino Library.

The following were in attendance:

Dr. Bruce Barnhart, Dr. Carol Bocetti, Dr. Linda Meyer, Dr. Craig Smith, Mr. Bob Thorn and Dr. Tom Wickham.

The committee met to finalize the edited proposal to submit to President Jones in December.

Final Considerations

The committee discussed the feedback received from the University community and decided what revisions were necessary.

Revisions to the proposal:

- Definition: Replace the word 'unending' with 'regular'; incorporate 'process' into decision making
- The Budget & Planning Committee will add the Budget Director (as an ex-officio seat) and remove the 4 seats chosen by college dean.
- The design of the common calendar recommended in the final proposal will remain at the president's discretion.
- Dr. Smith will create a *preamable* to be included in the finalized proposal.
- Student Government area on the general model to be revised.
- The General model will be changed/modified as follows:
 - Re-label the Staff Leadership Council, which includes new area for nonrepresented managers
 - o Re-label the Administration area to read "President & Cabinet"
 - o Modify the "dept" area under Grad Council to read, "dept/programs"
- The reference to counsellors will be struck and replaced with non-teaching faculty "whose basic responsibilities lie outside of the classroom setting"
- References to "administration" in the recommendations will be modified where appropriate to read "administrators, managers, faculty, staff, and students"

Meeting adjourned 4:15 p.m.